top of page
Collage Te Aurahi_edited.png

Ia Orana

My name is Asher Te Aurahi KORA. I'm 41 years old and I've lived on the island of Mo'orea since 2006. Originally from Aotearoa (New Zealand), my first language is English but I have gained adequate fluency in French too.

I've always loved the outdoors, but how did I become a hiking guide on a tropical island?


Well that's a story worth telling...

mountain guide, family man

Climbing trees was my favourite thing to do as a kid. It was at once peaceful and solitary, but at the same time challenging and exciting. It was my pathway to the great outdoors and I knew I wanted to spend as much time as possible outside.

My first overseas trip was to French Polynesia. We stayed on the island of Tahiti, then spent a weekend on Mo'orea with a local family. We played on the beach and tried to climb coconut palms, surrounded by majestic mountains rising from the turquoise lagoon...from then on I told anyone that would listen, that one day I would return to Mo'orea and marry a Tahitian princess. 

I was five years old.

My princess and I have now been married 14 years, we have three crazy, wonderful children and live in the mountains of Mo'orea. Already surrounded by forest, we have planted as many fruit trees as possible and our home is the perfect base to explore the island's interior.

My wife has supported me in moving away from the yachting industry, to become a professional hiking guide. I now have more time to be with my family, learn about the natural environment and local culture and explore the valleys and mountains of this beautiful island.

bottom of page